Introduction

When a residential client wants to move offices within a building, use the Move Offices Wizard to vacate old and select new offices. Find this in Clients page under the More tab. Office move will ensure that all services that you are currently receiving will continue to be provisioned in the new office. To remove an office that you no longer require or increase the number of rooms you are using please use Add/Remove office rooms.

If the move is taking place over several days, you can move rooms manually.

How to perform an office move


To move office fill in the form found here and click Next:

Moving Date: Select the date you want the move to take place. This can be today’s date.

Current Offices: Offices that you are currently usig will appear in this box. The adjacent box (Select to vacate) will display offices that you have selected for vacation.
Available Offices: This will show offices that are available.. The list of selected rooms shows the offices that you have selected. It is a mandatory field so must be filled.

Once you have selected the required rooms, click Next. If this client will be receiving internet or voice services, a pop-up will appear asking you whether you would like to provision their floor ports automatically.

If you are confident that your patching list is an accurate reflection of your comms room:

  • Click Automatic Provision. This will take you to the Floor Port Allocation screen where you can select the floor ports that you would like to allocate, where Connect will automatically provision them. This is covered in the following section of this article.

If you are not confident that your patching records are accurate:

  • Click Skip. This will finish the client creation process, but will not provision any floor ports. You will need to go to Switches page to provision the ports.

If you are not confident that your patching records are accurate but would like to amend your patching list:

  • Click Automatic Provision, then click Cancel. Go to the Building page to make any necessary changes to patching. You can read more about updating your patching in the Floor Ports section of the Knowledge Base.
  • You must then start the office move process again in the Clients section.

Floor Port Allocation Screen

Here is where you will see all the floor ports in the rooms that the client is moving into.

Ports that you allocate in this section will be ‘lit up’ for use by the client after you click finish and can be used for various services which we call ‘Roles’.

If at any point you need to reset all the ports back to their original allocation and role, you can click the Reset All Button.

Rooms

To select which room you would like to view, click the tabs at the top of the page.

Client Column

The colour of the text in this column can change depending on the context.

If this column is green and says “Unallocated” then the port isn’t currently providing service and so is available to assign to the client moving in.

If this column is highlighted red, then the switch port in question is currently providing service to a different client. This might be flagged as such for two reasons:

  • The patch list in the Building page may not be an accurate representation of the physical state of patching between floor ports and switchports i.e. Connect may show a switchport to be patched to the wrong floor port or a switchport to be patched when it is unallocated. You may wish to check patching in the coms room and update the patching list in the Building page before proceeding to Automatic Provision. You can read more about updating your patching in the Floor Ports section of the Knowledge Base. You must then start the conversion process again in the Clients page once you are happy that your patching records are correct.
  • Your patch list is up to date but Connect is displaying an error message saying that the switchport is assigned to a client who has since moved out. If you are confident the client has moved out you can allocate the port to the customer moving in.
  • Please be aware that any changes you make on this screen will cause loss of service for any customer that is genuinely using that switch port.

Allocating Floor Ports

To allocate single ports:

  • Click on the text in the Client column of the port you would like to allocate. The Role will default to 'Voice, LAN, Internet'.

​To allocate multiple ports or set a port role other than 'Voice, LAN, Internet':

  • Ctrl+Left Click (or CMD+Left Click on Mac) on the floor ports you would like to allocate.
  • From the drop-down at the top right, select the port role that you want these ports to be. (To see a description of these roles, see the Roles section below).
  • Click Set Ports.

Roles

Voice, LAN, Internet: Allows the use of a phone for voice services and internet
Voice: Allows the use of a phone without internet
LAN Only: Allows access to the client’s private network, without being able to reach the internet or providing use of a phone
Public IP: Allows the use of a public facing device. You will only be able to assign this role if the client has been given a public IP service.​

Comments

This is where you can add notes to ports to give extra information about what is plugged into them, for example “Printer”, “Conference Phone”, “Fax Machine".

This icon means that a comment is already assigned to the floor port.

This icon means that no comment has been set.

You can view and edit these comments by clicking on the icon, editing the text and clicking the tick.

Finished

You can now click the Finish button to be taken to the success screen.

Reassigning Switch Ports in vacated offices

Switch ports in the office from which the client has moved will not be automatically unassigned. After completing the Move Offices Wizard, go to the Floor Ports page and change the status of the unused ports to Unpatched.

Moving users between rooms manually

To allow users to move between offices over several days, you can associate the new room with the client using the Add/Remove Rooms page.

First, make sure the patching list is up to date. The room move can take place, and the switch port can be physically added to the floor port in the new room, and associated with the new port on the Floor Port page. Users will need to log out of existing handsets, and log back into the new handsets in the new room.

Once the new room is associated with the client, switch ports will need to be configured. You can deactivate switch ports in the previous room, and activate switch ports in the new room. This can be done in the Switches page Alternatively, if you want all switch ports in the previous room to remain active, more services will need to be assigned to the client. Services can be added in the Services Manager.

For users moving between offices in different sites, contact the essensys team.

Did this answer your question?