Introduction

The new client wizard is used to create, or schedule the creation of new clients. You will also be able to add the relevant services to the customer. It is located in the left hand menu bar, any client created will be added to the client you have selected from the right hand dropdown menu.

Using the Client Wizard

New client Wizard - page 1: client creation

Company Name: Input a company name into this field and Connect smart search feature will find the client's registration number and website, and populate those fields for you. If you do not want Connect to do this, check the Skip Auto Search Button box below the input field.

Company Registration Number: This will be auto populated by Connect's smart search function (see Company Name above) or you can enter a client's registration number here.

Website: This will be auto populated by Connect's smart search function (see Company Name above) or you can enter a client's website address here.  

Service Details

Service start date: The client will be created and services will be provisioned immediately if you select today's date. If you select a date in the future then services will be made live at 1am on the selected date.

Service end date: By default this is set to one year on from the scheduled start date. This can be changed before continuing or in the future. The end date has no impact on client services ceasing, it's simply used to help manage room allocation.

Client type: A residential customer is one that resides in your building. A Virtual / Lounge customer does not, but might want to utilise your Lounge Wi-Fi network , or take telephony and other services from you. If your client is residential, please select the office(s) you wish to allocate to them. If you need to amend any of your offices or workstations, please do this first on the Building page.

If your client is residential, an Available Offices section will appear. Please select the office(s) you wish to allocate to the client from the left hand box so that they appear in the Selected offices box. The number of workstations in each office appears next to the office name, this usually indicates the number of floor ports in the office. If you need to amend any of your offices or workstations, please do this first in the Building page. Note: if your client is going to work from a shared space (Co-Work) you do not need to select an office.

Account Number: Here you can enter an accounting reference number, which will be allocated to the customer and appear in billing reports and other information that can be found in Connect. This is useful if you want to synchronise Connect based information with other management or billing systems you might use. If this field is left blank Connect will generate a number for the client.

Active workstations: Enter the number of desks the client will be taking. This will be used later to help calculate required services.

Client Details

Client's Title, Name and contact details: Will be saved in Connect for your reference at a later date.

Invite user to Connect: You have the option to send an invitation to join Connect to the email address entered above.

New client Wizard - page 2: add services

Here you can add the services that you will provide for the customer. This shows the cost from essensys to you, as well as the price you charge the end client. You can edit the price to clients. Use the search boxes to quickly locate a service.

Highlight a service you want to add, click + and adjust the quantity in the basket on the right of the screen. Further information about each service is shown in the footer at the bottom of the screen when the service is highlighted.

Once you have finished adding the relevant services, click next to confirm your selection.

The next step allows you to allocate floor ports for voice and internet services, and have them be automatically provisioned by Connect.

This step relies on your patching records being accurate. If you are not confident that your patching records are accurate, select Next to complete the client creation process, and then proceed to the Building page to make any necessary changes to patching. You can read more about updating your patching in the Floor Ports section of the Knowledge Base.

To continue with the client creation process once you are happy that your patching records are correct, go to the Clients page, find the client and click Awaiting Provisioning in the status column.

New Client Wizard - page 3: Floor Port Allocation

Here is where you will see all the floor ports in the rooms that the client is moving into.

Ports that you allocate in this section will be ‘lit up’ for use by the client after you click finish and can be used for various services which we call ‘Roles’.

If at any point you need to reset all the ports back to their original allocation and role, you can click the Reset All Button.

Rooms

To select which room you would like to view, click the tabs at the top of the page.

Client Column

The colour of the text in this column can change depending on the context.

If this column is green and says “Unallocated” then the port isn’t currently providing service and so is available to assign to the client moving in.

If this column is highlighted red, then the switch port in question is currently providing service to a different client. This might be flagged as such for two reasons:

  • Your patch list isn’t an accurate reflection of what’s in your comms room, and so Connect thinks the floor port is connected to the wrong switch port. At this point you can cancel the automatic provision and go to the Building page to make any necessary changes to patching. You can read more about updating your patching in the Floor Ports section of the Knowledge Base. To continue with the client creation process once you are happy that your patching records are correct, go to the Clients page, find the client and click New in the status column.
  • Your patch list is up to date, and Connect thinks the switch port is being used by a customer that has since moved out. If you are confident the customer has moved out you can go ahead an allocate the port to the customer moving in.
  • Please be aware any changes you make on this screen will cause loss of service for any customer that is genuinely using that switch port.

Allocating Flo​or Ports

To allocate single ports,

  • Click on the text in the Client column of the port you would like to allocate. The Role will default to Voice, LAN, Internet.

​To allocate multiple ports or set a port role other than Voice, LAN, Internet.

  • Ctrl+Left Click (or CMD+Left Click on Mac) on the floor ports you would like to allocate.
  • From the drop-down at the top right, select the port role that you want these ports to be. (To see a description of these roles, see the Roles section above.)
  • Click Set Ports​.

Roles

Voice, LAN, Internet - Allows the use of a phone for voice services and internet

Voice - Allows the use of a phone without internet

LAN Only - Allows access to the client’s private network, without being able to reach the internet or providing use of a phone

Public IP - Allows the use of a public facing device. You will only be able to assign this role if the client has been given a public IP service.

Comments

Here is where you can add notes to ports to give extra information about what is plugged into them. Some examples that people use are “Printer”, “Conference Phone”, “Fax Machine.”

This icon means that a comment is already assigned to the floor port.

This icon means that no comment has been set.

You can view and edit comments by clicking on the icon, editing the text and clicking the tick.

Finished

You can now click the Finish button to be taken to the success screen where you can download the client's new service guide.

If the client requires a main line phone number, please see the article entitled "Amending Main Line Numbers"

Below is a video taking you through the new client process:

Did this answer your question?