All Collections
ESSENSYS PLATFORM
Advanced Networking
essensys Platform - Advanced Networking - How to Forget a Wireless Network
essensys Platform - Advanced Networking - How to Forget a Wireless Network

How to perform basic WiFi troubleshooting for an individual PC or Mac.

Stuart avatar
Written by Stuart
Updated this week

In some cases we may ask you to forget the Wi-Fi and reconnect, the reason for this is the following,

  • The device could be connecting to the incorrect Wi-Fi SSID (Wi-Fi Name)

  • The device could be connected to the incorrect Wireless Access Point (WAP)

  • Incorrect login details could being saved on the device

Windows

  • Click the Wi-Fi Logo within the task bar of the device,

  • Right-click on the Wi-Fi Secure and click on forget my password,

Try connecting to the Wi-Fi network again.

macOS

To forget the network you're currently using:

  1. Choose Apple menu > System Settings.

  2. Click Wi-Fi in the sidebar.

  3. Click Details next to the network you're using.

  4. Click Forget This Network, then click Remove to confirm.

To forget a network you've joined before but aren't currently using:

  1. Choose Apple menu > System Settings.

  2. Click Wi-Fi in the sidebar.

  3. Scroll down on the right and click Advanced to see the networks known to your Mac.

  4. Click the more button next to the network, choose Remove From List, then click Remove to confirm.

iOS (iPhone/iPad)

To forget the network you're currently using:

  1. Go to Settings > Wi-Fi.

  2. Tap the info button next to the network you’re using.

  3. Tap Forget This Network, then tap Forget to confirm.

To forget a network you've joined before but aren't currently using:

  1. Go to Settings > Wi-Fi.

  2. Tap Edit in the corner of the screen to see the networks known to your device.

  3. Do either of the following:

    • Tap the delete button , then tap Delete.

    • Or tap the info button next to the network, tap Forget This Network, then tap Forget to confirm.

Android

  1. Swipe a finger down from the top to expand the Notification Shade and tap on the “cog” icon.

  2. Tap Network & Internet.

  3. Tap Internet.

  4. Touch and hold on the Wi-Fi network you want to forget. Alternatively, you can tap on the “cog” icon next to the network’s name.

  5. Tap Forget.

If you are still having any issues with the WiFi Secure, MAC, Device or Guest see the guide below here.


Did this answer your question?