Security groups allow you to decide who has access to specific information within your system, whilst individual user options determine the permissions within each module and are not tied to the security groups. User access levels are an important element within any business, therefore we have made it all easy to manage.
Managing User Access and Security Groups
User access levels within Operate are managed through Security Groups. You can set them up by going to Settings, in the main navigation menu, then by selecting General/Getting Started > Security Groups.
Here is where you will find the default security groups that Operate comes pre-configured with. You can edit any of these, using the pencil icon next to the group. The default security groups in Operate are:
- Admin - Provides full access to the Operate system.
- Center Manager - Provides read and edit access to most areas of the system
- Reception Basic Access - Provides basic access for feature needed in order to perform reception tasks.
Otherwise, you can click New to create a new security group. You will now see a screen that allows you to name your security group and enable/disable different modules that members may have access to or may not.
Once you have named your security group, use the tick boxes in the list of modules to enable or disable an option:
- Enabled - activates the module for the user group. Once activated, the users in that group will see the module in their navigation. For example, if 'Accounts' is set to enabled, users in that group will be able to see and access the page from their navigation. Unless 'Can Read' is also selected, they will not be able to see individual Account records.
- Can Create allows the user group to create records corresponding to the respective module. For example, the users would be able to create new Accounts.
- Can Read Allows the user group to see the information corresponding to the module, but in Read-Only mode. Disabling Can Create/Update/Delete will only allow the users in the group to see the information, without being able to make any changes to it. For example, the users would be able to see each of the Account records in Read Only mode.
- Can Update - Lets the user group make changes to records belonging to the respective module. For example, users would be able to edit existing Accounts.
- Can Delete - Allows the users in the group to delete records corresponding to the module for which you are enabling the option. For example, users would be able to delete existing Accounts.
For admin-level access, it is recommended to leave all boxes ticked, in order to ensure that the administrator is not limited when managing the system.
For users belonging to different departments of your business, you might want to enable only those modules that they will need to use and disable the rest. You might want to allow read only access when you need to make sure your staff can see certain information, while they will not be able to alter it.
The Can Read option is the strictest access level that still lets users see the information.
Disabling a module will completely hide it from the user group.
Save your Security Group when you are happy with the configuration.
You can create one or more groups, according to staff roles within your business and grant them access to different Operate features, using the same process.
Assigning a User to a Security Group
To assign a user to a security group, go to Settings > General > General/Getting Started/Users and create a new user or edit an existing one. Find the Security Group dropdown list and select the desired one. This will automatically apply the security group access permissions to the user. If you want to further extend or restrict the access for this specific user, you can use the permissions available within the user profile. Make sure to save your change when you’re done.