All Collections
ESSENSYS PLATFORM
Smart Access module
essensys Platform - Smart Access - Access users
essensys Platform - Smart Access - Access users

How do I create a user who can only access spaces? | Doors | Access Users |

Stuart avatar
Written by Stuart
Updated over a week ago

Access users are not occupier users or operator team members, but still need access to your Smart Access managed spaces with Fobs are Swipe cards, these types of users may include visitors, security guards, cleaners, and contractors or maintenance staff.

Note: Access users cannot be assigned services or associated with infrastructure devices, they can only be granted access to spaces.

Create an access user with Smart Access

From Smart Access > Access users:

  1. Optionally, select a Site.
    This filters the list of access users to include only those at the selected site.
    Note: This selection will not affect which sites the user can be assigned access to, that is controlled by their groups.

  2. From the access users list, click Add an access user.
    The Add an access user dialog box opens.

  3. Specify details of the access user as follows:

    1. Basic user details (name and, optionally, email address).

    2. Activate Smart Access and specify device details (card ID).

    3. Select one or more access groups.

  4. Click Add access user.

The new access user is created with the specified Smart Access details.

Note: If the user is activated for Smart Access at the end of this process, they will be able to open the doors associated with their active groups.


Access User Details

Access user list view

Page: Smart Access > Access users > <site name> > <access user>

Field

Description

Sites

  • Search

  • All sites

  • <site list>

The sites that your access users may have access to. You can search this list by site name.

Selecting a particular site in this column:

  • Filters the list of access users in the center column by site.

  • Does not affect the the creation of a new access user.

Access users

  • Filter

  • Search

  • Add an access user

  • Download users

  • <access users>

The access users whose groups grant them access at the selected site:

  • You can search this list by user name.

  • You can filter this list to show only access users associated with a particular group.

  • Click Download users to download a CSV file containing details of all visible users.

  • Click Add an access user to open the wizard and create a new access user. See Add an access user.

Access user headers

  • Name

  • Edit user

  • Delete user

  • The name of the selected user.

  • Click Edit to update the details of the access user.
    Note: You can only use this dialog box to update the user's first name, last name, and access device details. To edit the user's groups, click Manage groups.

  • Click Delete to delete the access user. The user's access device stops working.

Access user details

  • Details

  • Smart access

    • Manage groups

    • Sites

      • Groups

Read-only view of the user's:

  • Details, including card ID and status.

  • Smart access details, including current state, number of sites where they have smart access, and Manage groups.

The Manage groups option lets you view and update the details of the groups that this user is associated with, organized by site.

Add or edit an access user

Pages:

  • Smart Access > Access users > Add an access user.

  • Smart Access > Access users > <access user> > Edit.

User details

Field

Description

User details:

  • First name

  • Last name

  • Email address (add only)

The basic details for the access user. An email address is not required for this type of user.

Tip: You cannot edit an access user's email address after it has been created.

Access

Field

Description

Access control

  • Activate

Optionally, click Activate to enable Smart Access for this user when the site is online.

Notes:

  • When access control is active and the user is associated with active groups, they can open the doors associated with their groups.

  • The access user uses the access device with the specified card ID to open doors.

Tip: You can also deactivate this option, stopping the card from being used to open doors.

Card ID

The identifier associated with the access device (card) used to open doors by this user.

The Card ID must be unique within the essensys Platform. If it is not, you will not be able to save the details.

Tips:

  • This numeric value is typically found on the reverse of the card.

  • If you do not know your Card ID, tap your card on a card reader and look in the Access logs for the access record. This record includes the card ID.

Offline access

  • Activate

Optionally, click Activate to let the user access spaces when Smart Access is offline.
Note: Users with offline access can continue to enter spaces that they normally have access to even though the site is offline.

Access Groups

Select the groups that this access user should be added to. Adding an active Smart Access user to an active group, lets that user open the doors that are also members of the group (subject to configuration).

These fields are presented in the following dialog boxes:

  • The Add an access user dialog box, when the user is created.

  • The Manage groups dialog box, when the user already exists. The Edit an access user dialog box does not include group details.

Field

Description

Available groups (per site)

  • Select all

  • Select <group>

The groups organized by site. Moving groups from this column into the right-hand Selected groups column selects them for the user.

  • To select individual groups for this user, click the arrow icon to the right of a group name.

  • To select all of the groups at a site, click the arrow icon alongside select all.

The groups that will be assigned to the user when you save are shown in the right-hand panel.

Selected groups

The groups assigned to this user, organized by site.

  • To break the connection between the user and all groups associated with a particular site, click the cross X alongside the site name.

  • To break the connection between the user and a particular group, click the cross X alongside the group name.

The selected groups are removed from the list of selected groups. The user will not derive access rights from formerly selected groups.

Did this answer your question?